Chapter 25: The Beetle at Bay

Hi everyone! As I said in my first entry I have been reading “Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix.” I am a slow reader so I’ve been working on it for a few weeks. I just finished chapter 25 so I’m going to talk about it a little bit.

I’ve seen all the movies many times and the more I read the more frustrated I get. This was something I never picked up on but after 10 Death Eaters escaped from Azkaban of course it is blamed on Sirius but Cho pointed out that the dementors weren’t out looking for them like they were when Sirius had escaped.

The next thing just completely shocked me. In the movies Cho is always portrayed as this sweet and shy girl; which she is. However, in the scene where she and Harry go to Hogsmeade for Valentine’s Day her behavior wasn’t so sweet. It started out okay but then he told her that Hermione wanted to meet him at the Three Broomsticks and it went downhill. She just acted weird. I understand that its Valentine’s Day but I didn’t think she’d get jealous of Hermione. She proceeded to bring up the fact that the guy at the next table had asked her out a few weeks earlier and that the year before she had gone there with Cedric. Why was that necessary? Then she gets upset and storms out because Harry doesn’t want to talk about Cedric and thinks he’s some kind of womanizer. I think I was just as befuddled as he was.

The last scene was at the Three Broomsticks. Harry sat with Hagrid while he waited for Hermione to show up. Since Hagrid came back from his trip seeing the giants he had been acting strange. He seems like he’s hiding something and keeps getting these cuts and bruises. I just want to know why! After Harry meets Hermione you find out there are 2 more people with her, Luna Lovegood and Rita Skeeter. We all know how much Hermione hates Rita Skeeter so this was intriguing. She wanted Rita to interview Harry and write an article telling the truth. Now the Daily Prophet wouldn’t publish an article like that so that’s where Luna comes into play. Luna’s father is the editor of the magazineĀ The Quibbler which isn’t very popular. So Rita didn’t want to. If you remember in the last book Hermione kept Rita locked up in a jar once she found out she was an animagus spying on people to get information for her stories. So to get her to do it she told Rita that if she didn’t she’d tell the Ministry she was an unregistered animagus and she could write articles from Azkaban. It worked. Brilliant Hermione.

~Victoria

Leave a Reply

